Warm-Up For Yoga: A Tough Choice Between Saving Energy And Getting The Muscles Ready

Along with fatigue and sickness, an improper start of the workout robs the body of every chance to react to the physical exercise adequately and provokes an outright sabotage of the training process. The quality of warm-up affects your disposition and, hence, the productivity and joy from the practice.

Certain schools and yoga-teachers consider it possible to start working in asana without any preliminary warm-up. Several years ago, on the first day of a yoga workshop I ran across the following practice: the class began straight with Surya Namaskar. The days following this discovery,  I had to come 15 minutes earlier and do my warm-up exercises.

My Guru’s instruction sounded way too distinctly in my head: “Yoga without warm-up is rhoga,” meaning poison.

The lack of preliminary warm-up is one of the three main injury-risk factors

Each type of physical excerise requires specific warm-up, and yoga is no exception. In addition to the advanced physiological and anatomical requirements imposed on the body during the performance of asanas, it is essential to take into account the differences in the practitioner’s health and experience. These criteria define the set of warm-up exercises, as well as the technique and time of their performance.

Considerations of safety made me an absolute fan of Sukshma Vyayama (known to the general public as a “top-to-toe joint exercise”) popularized by Swami Dhirendra Brahmachari and a similar joint-by-joint physiotherapeutic approach formalized by Gray Cook and Mike Boyle.

On the question of perfect intensity and duration of pre-yoga warm-up…

Some 20 years ago, research in the field of physical therapy, in particular the work of Ian Stewart and Gordon Sleivert, proved that a 15-minute warm-up with 60–70% intensity granted the maximum range of motion and performance during the core training program. Exactly this type of warm-up is regarded as a perfect preparation before building and holding yoga asanas.

However, the question remains: Why are dynamic stretching exercise recommended as a classical yogi warm-up leaving other popular warm-up techniques (jog, ladder sprint, static stretching, etc.) pointedly underrated?

The subtle effect of Sukshma Vyayama

Imagine a healthy human body as an efficiently tuned complex mechanism. The name “locomotor system” fits it perfectly. Muscles, joints, ligaments, and tendons interact with each other as numerous multi-sized pistons, cylinders, levers, and valves.

A smooth and continuous flow of signals across the nervous system provides the synchronization and coordination of the interaction among various parts of the physical body. You can picture a sports-related injury as a seizure of cylinders and gears due to the “program failure” in the nervous system, which “breaks” or sends the wrong directives.

– That’s not my fault. Something just went wrong by itself.

A somatic reflex arc is a creative neural dialogue between the subtle and the physical body in the process of movement. An electromagnetic impulse from the brain gets to the ganglias commissioning a specific movement. In this way, the contraction of active muscles and loosening of the antagonist muscles occur to furnish the move. Alternatively, static postures engage synergistic muscles into collaboration.

During the passive stretching of the muscles, the reflex switches on and blocks whatever the somatic receptors “perceive” as over-stretching. This signal reaches the spinal cord and the response returns as a spasm of the effector muscle. A cramp is nothing but a “moral refusal” of the body to perform a conceived motion. A reflex arc strives to maintain the “known” range of safe movement.

Our body gets accustomed to the rhythm and speed of everyday physical activity: pace, arm span, neck rotation range, body bent lunge, etc. Our body gets “ideas” about the standards of routine physical work.

During any warm up, we can see the general physical mobilization right on the surface: the speeding up of the heartbeat and breathing intensity, the increase of muscle temperature, elasticity of joints and ligaments, the optimization of the quantity and quality of the synovial fluid, etc. This transformation can turn you into thinking that any dynamic exercise provides sufficient preparation of muscles and oxygen supply.

However, Sukshma Vyayama has one exceptional feature. The exercises for joints activate the joint receptors and communicate the change in the context of physical activity to the whole body. They announce the need for a comprehensive transition from the routine muscular tone to the state suitable for an increasingly more diverse and in-depth work in asanas.

In the course of a 10-15-minute warm-up, the central nervous system activates sufficiently to transmit the new scope of signals at a new speed. Indeed, the term Sukshma Vyayama is directly translated as “subtle exercise,” emphasising their effect as something more profound than a mere warm-up of the physical body.

While in running and similar sports, body-conditioning and muscular warm-up are the key, in yoga, the emphasis is made at strengthening a unhampered constructive dialogue between the locomotive and central nervous system.

You can notice that even after a good warm-up your body “acts” differently from class to class. This fact can be most clearly observed by the beginner-yogis and mid-level practitioners. This tendency is conditioned by variations in the psychological and emotional conditions. The emotional tension, the distracted attention, and stress prevent a person from relaxing completely and diving into the flow of yoga.

As your yoga practice becomes more regular and comprehensive, you notice as the internal flow of energy stabilizes, the internal knowledge of self becomes more profound while the physical post-warm-up indicators grow more consistent.

Warm-up delivers heat to the body, which should linger throughout the core training

The ability of your training ammunition to keep heat and remove sweat is of tremendous importance. Your fingers, toes and feet should be warm. Not every yogi is lucky enough to practice in the year-round summer or a “hot yoga” class. However, modern yogis have a sufficient variety of quality wear, comfortable socks and gloves to solve this problem. It is highly unlikely that you are willing to waste physical energy bouncing back and forth from muscles to organs. In the course of the core exercise you can shed off excessive layers and then wrap up again before the cool down exercises or a final relaxation in savasana.

You can benefit from performing the half-way dynamic combinations (vynyasas) as soon as you sense that your body starts losing heat.

Things to remember when performing a warm-up before practicing yoga-asanas:

  • warm-up gradually to achieve a smooth increase in the range and speed of motion
  • general dynamic exercises provide the working out of all major joints
  • specific dynamic exercises provide an additional working out of joints that will be particularly stressed during the core training. At this point, it is common to use the simplified versions of the major training exercises
  • don’t forget the breathing exercises
  • perceived heat spreading across the body and sweating mean the warm-up was sufficient
  • do not allow bouncing movements during the warm-up. Every exercise should be performed in an elaborate and coordinated way with sufficient “tension”
  • an optimum warm-up lasts about 10 – 15 minutes prior to the core training
  • make sure to maintain the sufficient level of heat in your body during the practice with the help of vinyasas (dynamic combinations)
  • personalize your general exercise by respecting the desire to pay more attention to your soft spots. Indeed, no one knows your body better than yourself

Practice with complete awareness and enjoy!

Разминка в йоге: Непростой выбор между желанием сэкономить энергию и необходимостью подготовить мышцы

Наряду с утомлением и болезнью, неправильный «вход» в тренировку лишает тело возможности адекватно реагировать на физическую нагрузку и провоцирует саботаж тренировочного процесса. От качества разминки зависит ваш настрой, а следовательно, отдача и удовольствие от самой практики.

Некоторые школы и преподаватели йоги допускают приступать к работе в асанах без предварительной разминки. Несколько лет назад в первый день одного из йога-интенсивов я с удивлением столкнулась с этой практикой: начало занятия сразу с Сурья Намаскар. Последующие дни пришлось приходить за 15 минут до занятия и разминаться самостоятельно.

В голове слишком отчетливо звучали слова ГуруДжи о том, что «йога без разминки  это рога,» то есть яд.

Отсутствие достаточного разогрева перед тренировкой является одной из трех наиболее частых причин травм.

Каждый вид физической нагрузки требует специфической разминки и йога не исключение. Помимо физиологических и анатомических требований, которые выполнение асан ставит перед телом, крайне важно учитывать особенности организма и уровень подготовки практикующего. От этого зависит «набор»упражнений, техника и длительность их выполнения.

Соображения травмобезопасности сделали меня абсолютным фанатом Сукшма Вьяямы (в миру  «суставная гимнастика») описанной Дхирендра Брахмачарьей и схожего физиотерапевтического подхода «от сустава к суставу» Грэя Кука и Майка Бойла.

К вопросу об интенсивности и длительности разогрева перед практикой йоги

Еще 20 лет назад исследования в области физической терапии, в частности работа Яна Стюарта и Гордона Сливерта, показали, что 15-минутная разминка с интенсивностью 6070% от предельной обеспечивает максимальный диапазон движения и выносливость в процессе последующей тренировки. Именно такой тип разминки идеально подходит для подготовки к выполнению и фиксациях в асанах йоги.

Почему же из ряда доступных вариантов разминки (пробежка, бег по лестнице, статическая растяжка, итп) именно динамическая разминка-растяжка рекомендуется в качестве «йоговского разогрева»?

Тонкий эффект Сукшма Вьяямы

Представьте себе здоровое человеческое тело как идеально отлаженный сложный механизм. Название «опорно-двигательный аппарат» довольно близко к действительности. Мышцы, суставы, связки и сухожилия взаимодействуют друг с другом как множество разноразмерных поршней, цилиндров, рычагов, и клапанов.

Синхронизация и слаженность их работы обеспечивается непрерывным потоком сигналов нервной системы. Спортивную травму можно представить себе как заклинивание цилиндров и шестеренок в результате «сбоя программы» нервной системы, которая «тормозит» или посылает неправильный сигнал в работу механизма.

«Я не виноват  оно само!»

Соматическая рефлекторная дуга  это творческий диалог тонкого и грубого тел в процессе движения. Электромагнитный импульс головного мозга передает нервным узлам свое желание выполнить определенное движение инициируя сокращение активных мышц и расслабление антагонистов в динамике или дополнительное включение мышц-синергистов в статике.

Во время принудительного растяжения мышцы включается бессознательный рефлекс блокирующий то, что рецепторы считывают как «перерастяжение». Этот сигнал попадает в спинной мозг и затем возвращается в мышцу как спазм  «моральный отказ» тела заданное движение исполнить. Рефлекторная дуга призвана сохранить диапазон «известного» безопасного движения.

Тело привыкает к ритму и скорости повседневной физической активности: длине шага, размаху рук, амплитуде поворота шеи, глубине наклона, итп. У него «формируются» свои соображения относительно «нормальной» физической работы.

В процессе любой разминки на поверхности мы видим общую физическую мобилизацию: увеличение частоты сердцебиения и интенсивности дыхания, разогрев мышц и повышение эластичности связок и сухожилий, нормализацию количества и качества синовиальной жидкости, итп. Это может натолкнуть на мысль, будто бы любая динамическая нагрузка обеспечивает достаточную подготовку мышечной ткани и кислородное энергообеспечение.

Однако сукшма вьяяма имеет еще одну очень важную особенность. Через активизацию суставных рецепторов суставная гимнастика сообщает всему организму о смене контекста активности, а именно о необходимости перехода с повседневного тонуса на более разнообразную и глубокую проработку всех функциональных групп мышц в асанах.

За 1015 минут разминки центральная нервная система достигает необходимого уровня возбудимости, чтобы передавать сигналы в новом объеме и на новой скорости. На самом деле прямой перевод определения «сукшма вьяяма» звучит как «тонкие упражнения,» обозначая их эффект как более глубинный нежели просто разогрев физического тела.

В беге и аналогичных видах спорта главную роль играет общая физическая подготовка и разогрев мышцы. Для обеспечения безопасности сложных суставнях манипуляциях в асанах йоги на первое место выходит слаженность диалога между телом и центральной нервной системой.

Достаточно обратить внимание на тот факт, что даже при хорошем разогреве тело «разное» от занятия к занятию. Этот момент наиболее очевиден у новичков и практикующих среднего уровня. Все потому что, психо-эмоциональное состояние разное. Эмоциональное напряжение, рассеянное внимание и стрессы не дают достаточно расслабиться и войти в «поток» йоги.

По мере наращивания регулярной и полноценной практики йоги, вы заметите как энергетическое состояние будет становиться все более ровным, внутреннее знание себя более содержательным, а физические показатели тела после разминки все более устойчивыми.

Разминка подразумевает разогрев, который сохраняется теле на протяжении тренировки.

Способность вашей тренировочной амуниции удерживать тепло и выводить пот имеет колоссальное значение. Пальцы рук и стопы должны быть теплыми. Не всем повезло практиковать в «вечном» лете или hot yoga зале. Но благо у современных йогинов есть достаточный выбор качественной одежды, удобных носков и рукавиц, чтобы решить эту задачу. Вы же не хотите, чтобы физическая энергию уходила на попеременное сжатие и расширение сосудов гоняющих кровь от мышц к органам и обратно. В ходе основной тренировки можно снять лишнюю одежду и затем вновь «утеплиться» перед заминкой или финальным расслаблением в шавасане.

Необходимость выполнять промежуточные динамические связки (виньясы) появляется как только вы чувствуете, что остываете.

Выполнение разминки перед практикой йоги:

  • постепенный разогрев при медленном увеличении амплитуды и скорости движения
  • общая динамическая разминка, т. е., проработка всех крупных суставов
  • специфическая динамическая разминка, то есть, дополнительная проработка суставов, на которые планируется акцент в тренировке, через упрощенную имитацию основных движений
  • дыхательные упражнения
  • достаточность разминки определяется ощущением появления устойчивого жара во всем теле и потоотделения
  • не допускайте раскачивание в движениях разминки. Каждое упражнение выполняется продуманно, скоординированно и с «натяжением»
  • необходимая длительность 10  15 минут непосредственно перед основным комплексом
  • не забывайте поддерживать достаточное тепло в теле в процессе практики с помощью виньяс
  • помимо общей разминки, уважайте внутреннее желание уделить больше внимания своей «слабой» зоне. Ведь никто не знает ваше тело лучше вас самих.