Brahma Muhurta, Or Why Waking Up At Such An Early-Morning Hour?

“Who wakes up early to live the moment where the light is reborn?” (Jalaluddin Rumi)

Waking up in the morning has two meanings: one is physical and another one is symbolic. On the one hand, your body wakes up from sleep. On the other hand, there is a symbolic awakening of a human soul to the Light and its liberation from the erratic illusions of the mind.

It is possible to emphasize one of these aspects during practice or balance attention between them in asana, pranayama, and meditation.

In this context, the depressive moods associated with the loss of activity and a growing sense of frustration are viewed as dwelling in the dark. Performing Surya Namaskar and other energetic practices in the period of Brahma Muhurta has a profound therapeutic effect on depressive personality disorders.

“A healthy person should wake up from sleep in the hour of Brahma Muhurta [from 3 to 6 a.m. depending on the time of sunrise] to protect own life.” (Ashtanga Hridayam)

Последовательность Сурья Намаскар на рассвете

Why going to such extremes? – The thing is that the nectar of Sattva guna (the energy of goodness) fills the air at this time. There is no better way to absorb it as in the course of yoga practice before dawn.

By waking up after dawn, people lose connection with the attributes of goodness: satisfaction, harmony, peace, tranquility, freshness of perception, optimism, and, eventually, happiness.

“Wake up at 4 a.m., in the hour of Brahma Muhurta, best time for spiritual contemplation, and begin to chant mantra. If you find it difficult, at least try to wake up before dawn. In the early morning hours after sleep,  your mind is calm, pure, and fresh. At this time, your mind is like a blank sheet of paper and more or less free from the footprints of daily activities. It is very easy to reach your mind in the time of sattva guna (energy of goodness). Take a shower or wash your hands and start chanting mantra or meditating” (Swami Sivananda “Japa-Yoga”)

Opinions differ slightly as to the span of time constituting Brahma Muhurta. Ayurveda sets the time from 3 to 6 a.m., but notes that these instructions should be followed only by a healthy person.

This practice can be used as an instrument of general health self-diagnostics. My experience is to wake up  around 5 a.m. every morning without an alarm.  Oversleeping “my” time suggests that, for some reason, it took me longer to recover. I try to determine the problem (overfatigue, getting sick, etc) in the course of my morning yoga practice.

Sivananda yoga sets the awakening time for 4 a.m. Modern practitioners find it possible to shift the required time to an hour and a half before dawn. This time span equals to two muhurtas (48 minutes х 2), and namely, 1 hour 36 minutes.

At Devraha Baba Ashram, tradition I belong to, the morning practice and meditation start at 3 a.m.

The influence of dosha’s activity on the physical health

It should be noted that the period from 2 to 6 a.m. is the time of Vata dosha activity, which realises the principle of movement. It means that the body will be tuned to disposing of waste and toxins. A purified body is a perfect vessel for the practice of pranayama, kriya, prayer, and meditation.

Kapha dosha is active from 6 to 10 a.m. Waking-up at this hour will be followed by the accumulation of slime in the body. As a result, a person might suffer from breathing problems, constipation, intoxication, apathy, slackness in work, chronic fatigue, and the sense of carrying the burden of life.

Pitta dosha is active after 10 a.m. The energy of fire may cause excessive bile flow, irritation, accelerated ageing, anger, vanity, and instigate an unavailing pursuit of elusive happiness and joy.

“He, who aspires to see God, always wakes up at the hour of Brahma Muhurta (before dawn), crosses his legs in Padmasana … he tells his beads and chants mantra quietly” (Swami Sivananda “Japa-Yoga”)

This time is dedicated to Brahma, God of Creation. It’s the time when you recreate yourself for the new day.
The notion “Brahma Muhurta”encompasses the predawn hours, when the human soul and the Universe join in a very special interaction.

Yogis tune up with the subtle vibrations of the macrocosm as a camertone for balancing internal elements (earth, water, air, fire, and ether), doshas (Vata, Pitta, and Kapha), and vayus (prana, apana, udana, vyana, and samana).

The designs of our lives are drawn by powers we cannot fully understand or control. However, we can endeavor to embrace every day with joy and open consciousness.

 

Photos by Michail Aseev

Брахма Мухурта, или Зачем вставать в такую рань?

«Кто рано встает, чтобы пережить мновение, в котором заново рождается свет?» (Джалаладдин Руми)

Утреннее пробуждение имеет два значения: прямое физическое и символическое. В первом случае от сна просыпается ваше тело. Во втором — это пробуждение вашей души к Свету, освобождение ее от переменчивых иллюзий ума.

В этом контексте, депрессивные состояния с потерей активности и растущим чувством бессилия и безысходности рассматриваются как пребывание во тьме. В своей практике вы можете акцентировать один из процессов или гармонично распределять свое внимание между ними в асанах, пранаяме и медитации.
Выполнение Сурья Намаскар и энергетических практик в Брахма Мухурту оказывает особое терапевтическое воздействие на психические заболевания депрессивного характера.

«Здоровый человек должен подниматься ото сна в Брахма Мухурту [От 3 до 6 часов утра, в зависимости от времени восхода солнца] ради защиты собственной жизни. («Аштанга Хридаям»)

Последовательность Сурья Намаскар на рассвете

Почему же так радикально? Дело в том, что в этот отрезок времени в пространстве разлита амрита Саттва гуны (нектар благости). Других способов впитать ее в себя, кроме как в процессе предрассветных практик, не представляется возможным.

Вставая после восхода солнца человек лишает себя всех атрибутов благости: удовлетворенности, гармонии, спокойствия, умиротворения, свежести восприятия, положительного настроя и, наконец, счастья.

«Встаньте в 4 часа утра, в Брахма Мухурту, время, которое весьма способствует духовному созерцанию и начинайте повторять мантру. Если вы находите это трудным, вставайте хотя бы до восхода солнца. Рано утром после сна разум спокоен, чист и бодр. В это время разум подобен чистому листу бумаги и сравнительно свободен от отпечатков мирских поступков. В это время преобладания саттвы (благости) на него очень легко воздействовать. Примите душ или омойте руки и приступайте к чтению мантры или медитации» (Свами Шивананда «Джапа-йога»)

Мнения относительно временного промежутка составляющего Брахма Мухурту расходятся, но незначительно. Аюрведа устанавливает время от 3 до 6 утра, но отмечает, что это требование следует выполнять здоровому человеку.

Этот можно использовать в качестве само-диагностики общего состояния здоровья. По собственному опыту, я самостоятельно просыпаюсь ежедневно около 5 утра. Если вы проспали «свое» время, значит тело показывает, что, по какой-то причине, ему понадобилось больше времени для восстановления. В процессе утренней практики я стараюсь определить эту причину: переутомление, недомогание, итп.

Шивананда йога назначает подъем на 4 утра. Современные авторы допускают возможность сдвинуть подъем максимум на полтора часа до восхода Солнца. Указанный промежуток соответствует двум мухуртам (48 минут х 2), а именно 1 час 36 мин.

В ашраме Дэвраха Бабы, моей коренной традиции, утренняя медитация и молитва начинаются в 3 утра.

Влияние активности дош на физическое здоровье

Следует принять во внимание, что период с 2 до 6 утра — это время активности ватта доши, которая реализует принцип движения. Это значит, что из тела будут активно удаляться отходы и токсины. Очищенное и еще не загруженное пищей тело является оптимальным сосудом для практик пранаямы, крии, молитвы и медитации.

С 6 до 10 утра активизируется капха доша. Подъем в это время будет сопровождаться накоплением слизи в организме и, как следствие, возможны проблемы с дыхательными органами, запоры, интоксикацию организма, апатию, чувство тяжести жизни, общую вялость и хроническую утомляемость.

После 10 утра активна питта доша. Принцип огня будет провоцировать повышенное выделение желчи, раздражительность, ускоренное старение, гневливость, суету и бесплодную погоню за вечно ускользающими счастьем и радостью.

«Стремящийся увидеть Бога всегда встает в час Брахма Мухурты (до восхода) крестив падмасане (позе „лотооса“) ноги… перебирает он четки беззвучно повторяя мантру» (Свами Шивананда «Джапа-йога»)

Это время посвящено Брахме — богу творения. Это время, когда вы творите себя для нового дня.
Понятие «Брахма Мухурта» охватывает предрассветный период времени, когда выстраивается особое взаимодействие микрокосмоса человеческой души и Вселенной.

Мы используем соонастройку с тонкими вибрациями макрокосмоса как камертон для балансировки внутренних элементов (земли, воды, воздуха, огня и эфира), дош (ватты, питты и капхи), и вайю (праны, апаны, удданы, въяны и саманы).

Рисунки нашей жизни, создаются силами, над которыми мы не властны. Несмотря на это, мы можем приложить усилия, чтобы встречать каждый новый день целостно, осознанно и радостно.

 

Фотоматериалы Михаила Асеева.