9 Tips On How To Teach Yourself To Wake Up Early

Most people believe that joining the ranks of night owls gives them a lifelong thumbs up for going to bed late. Keeping bad hours is usually followed by sleeping late or chronic sleep deficiency caused by continuous use of the alarm clock to rush to work. It is near to impossible for the first group of people to appreciate the benefits of rising early while the second goup simply works to the point of exhaustion.

Looking forward to the morning yoga practice

Recomendations on teaching yourself to wake up early are fairly simple. In fact, all you have to do is actually implement them.

  1. Find yourself a good reason
    You want to find and focus on your personal reason to get up early. A great way to settle this issue is to get a day planner and list all of your appointments and important activities for the day (not those that you would like to accomplish theoretically but real current tasks that require your attention). Check your performance at the end of the day. Stick with this practice for a week and analyze results. It’s either one or the other: а) the lack of time to live a life of your dreams becomes blatantly obvious. In this case you settle the issue of positive motivation once and for all; b) it turns out that there is no sense for you to wake up earlier. You are completely satisfied with the current situation. In this case there is no point in even trying for a change.
  2. Make sure you get enough sleep
    A healthy sleep with complete energy recovery takes about 5-6 hours. During the period of transition to waking up early you have to make sure you have it. You simply owe it to your body. Keep in mind that this instruction implies 5–6 hours of continuous sleep. If you wake up to go to the bathroom, make a night visit to the fridge or engage in other vital activities, then you don’t get full recovery. You simply do not have enough sleep. When you become a natural early riser, you might consider cutting the sleep hours. However, that’s an altogether different story.

    At dawn
  3. Give enough rest to your digestive tract and liver
    Don’t drink tea or eat juicy fruit and vegetables late in the evening. Use the bathroom and empty your bowels and bladder to make sure the calls of nature would not interrupt your sleep. Don’t drink coffee past noon.
    Don’t eat after 7 p.m. (or 34 hours before sleep). In the evening, digestion slows down and it takes longer to process the food. It is essential to give rest to your liver If the “janitor” of your body doesn’t get enough rest, you wake up with a sense of fatigue. That’s the reason not to have any alcohol or junk food in the evening. If your body has gone through significant and continuous intoxication, you might need to apply special cleaning practices (kriyas). It is important that these practices correspond to your individual body type and are mastered under the supervision of your yoga teacher.
    Don’t go to sleep on an empty stomach or with a sense of hunger. You can easily stay your appetite by drinking a glass of warm milk half an hour before sleep.
  4. Give yourself enough time
    You have to break an old habit. You’ll be a sure success, if you do it step by step. First you set an alarm with soft but not depressive music. Then, you move the alarm one hour earlier with each month. Have at least 3 months for transformation. Not 30 days, but 3 months. Have patience and don’t strain yourself. In 3 months, start to wake up without an alarm every third, second, and, finally, every day.

    Once upon a Brahma Muhurta..
  5. Make an experiment
    Analyse the days when you wake up without an alarm. It might turn out that the most comfortable time for you to wake up is not 7a.m. but 6 a.m. or 5:15 a.m. Look for your perfect time spot. Wake up at one and the same time every day, including weekends.
  6. Get out of the bed at once 
    Immediately. Don’t think “Well, how am I today?”, “Did I have enough sleep?” etc. Even the first sentence of your internal dialogue might turn into a lullaby for you. Until you are completely awake, don’t give your mind a single chance to take over the leadership. Focus all attention on your physical activity. Once you wake up, you open your eyes, go to the shower, and have your exercise or morning run.
  7. Physical exercise is a must
    Endorphines mean everything for waking up early. Having a shower twice a day, daily morning exercise for 15-20 min and substantial workout 3 times a week constitute a perfect yogi set of great spirits.
    “So, what about meditation?” – you might ask.
    The meditation practice becomes reality when you become an effortless early riser. Otherwise, you will fall asleep with beads in your hand dreaming of reading mantra or meditating.
  8. Relax before going to bed 
    Listen to light music, read an interesting book, and don’t talk. Light a small candle to burn out while you are falling asleep.  Don’t work at night, fall asleep with your TV on, or surf the internet. Don’t go to bed right after you have just turned off your computer or TV. You should enjoy at least an hour of your real life before you go to sleep.

    An exceptional and unforgettable morning
  9. Enjoy your very special morning
    Don’t rush. Enjoy your new time. Taste the morning atmosphere. Don’t think about how great it could be if you woke up earlier. Start waking up early. Do it today. Celebrate it as a victory. Not  OVER yourself but FOR yourself. Such a small detail, which brings a radical change to the process.

If you fail to shift the starting point of your day despite all efforts, it may be a sign of considerable internal imbalnces: over-strain, stress, or sickness. In this case you risk exacerbating a problem by forcing yourself to get up earlier. Try to find out the underlying reason and cope with it first. At least, make sure you have a good rest and sleep before your morning crusade.

9 практических советов как научить себя рано вставать

Большинство людей полагает, что записав себя единожды в ряды «сов», они могут ложится спать глубокой ночью и либо позволять себе выспаться, пробуждаясь после полудня, либо хронически недосыпать, вытаскивая себя из сна будильником на работу. Если первой категории людей сложно объяснить пользу раннего подъема, то вторая категория попросту «пашет» на износ, зарабатывая хроническую усталость.

На утренюю практику

Рекомендации предельно просты. Ранний подъем требует от вас только одного — выполнять их.

  1. Найдите причину
    Выявите и осознайте необходимость рано вставать. Для этого заведите ежедневник, составьте список действительно важных дел на день (не того, что вам бы теоретически хотелось совершить, а реальных задач, которые требуют вашего внимания). Проверьте выполнение в конце дня. Проделайте эту практику неделю. Проанализируйте. Одно из двух: а) нехватка времени для полноценной жизни «вашей мечты» станет очевидной. В этом случае вопрос мотивации решится автоматически. б) окажется, что вам незачем раньше вставать. Вас полностью удовлетворяет сложившаяся ситуация. В этом случае, нет смысла даже пытаться что-то менять.
  2. Высыпайтесь
    Сон с полноценным восстановлением составляет 56 часов. В период «перехода» на ранний подъем вы должны их «высыпать». Попросту обязаны своему организму. Внимание! Подразумевается 56 часов сна подряд. Если вы просыпаетесь, ходите в туалет, к холодильнику или решаете другие жизненно важные вопросы, то полное восстановление не происходит. Вы попросту не высыпаетесь. Когда ранний подъем станет естественным, то можно рассматривать возможность сокращения времени сна. Но это уже совсем другая история.

    Рассветная
  3. Дайте отдохнуть органам ЖКТ и печени
    Не пейте на ночь чай, не ешьте сочные фрукты и овощи. Обязательно сходите в туалет освободите кишечник и мочевой пузырь, чтобы природные позывы не прерывали ваш сон. Не пейте кофе после полудня.
    Не ешьте после 7 часов вечера (или 34 часа до сна). К вечеру пищеварительный огонь угасает и пища долго переваривается. Ключевой момент  дать отдохнуть печени. Если «дворник организма» не отдохнул  вы не выспались. Именно по этой причине: никакого спиртного вечером, никаких фастфудов, химии, итп. При чрезмерной и длительной интоксикации организма вам не обойтись без специальных чисток (крий), которые важно подобрать под индивидуальную конституцию и освоить под чутким руководством преподавателя йоги.
    Не ложитесь спать с чувством голода. Понадобится совсем немного, чтобы его утолить. Например, достаточно выпить полстакана молока за полчаса до сна.
  4. Дайте себе время
    Старую привычку придется сломать. Делается это постепенно. Для начала ставьте будильник с мягкой, но не депрессивной музыкой. Двигайте свое время по часу в месяц. Дайте себе минимум 3 месяца на трансформацию. Не 30 дней, а 3 месяца. Имейте терпение, не насилуйте себя. Через 3 месяца начинайте просыпаться без будильника каждый третий, каждый второй и, наконец-то, каждый день.

    Однажды в Брахма Мухурту..
  5. Экспериментируйте
    Проанализируйте дни, когда вы просыпаетесь без будильника. Возможно, ваше комфортное время не 7, а 6 утра или 5:15. Ищите свою идеальную точку пробуждения. Вставайте в одно и то же время каждый день, включая выходные.
  6. Сразу вставайте
    Мгновенно. Не думайте «как оно сегодня?», выспались вы или нет, итп. Даже первая строчка внутреннего диалога может стать для вас колыбельной. Пока вы не проснулись окончательно, не давайте уму ни единого шанса взять командование на себя. Именно для этого сразу все внимание переключайте на активность тела. Проснулись  и прямиком в душ, а потом зарядка или пробежка.
  7. Физические нагрузки обязательны
    Эндорфины  «наше все» для раннего подъема. Душ утром и вечером, ежедневная 15-20 мин утренняя зарядка и усиленная физическая нагрузка 3 раза в неделю оптимальный йоговский набор бодрости.
    «А как же медитация?»  спросите вы.
    Практика медитации станет реальностью, когда будет наработан ранний подъем. Иначе, вы будете засыпать прямо четками в руках, сновидя о том, как вы читаете мантру или медитируете.
  8. Готовьтесь ко сну
    Послушайте музыку, почитайте, не разговаривайте. Зажгите маленькую свечку, чтобы она выгорела пока вы засыпаете. НЕ работайте ночью, не засыпайте под телевизор, не сидите в интернете. Не ложитесь спать сразу после выключения компьютера или телевизора. Перед сном должен пройти минимум час вашей реальной жизни.

    Неповторимое и незабываемое утро
  9. Наслаждайтесь утром
    Никуда не спешите. Наслаждайтесь своим новым временем. Почувствуйте вкус утренней атмосферы. Не думайте о том, как бы встать пораньше. Вставайте. Начните прямо сегодня. Сделайте это маленькой победой. Не НАД собой, а ДЛЯ себя. Маленький нюанс, который в корне меняет весь процесс.

Если же, несмотря на все усилия, вы не можете сдвинуть начало своего дня, это может быть сигналом более серьезных внутренних дисбалансов: переутомления, стресса или болезни. В этом случае, упорно принуждая себя к раннему пробуждению, вы только усугубите ситуацию. Исследуйте причину позднего подъема и по возможности устраните ее. Как минимум, отдохните и выспитесь перед началом Крестового Похода в утро.